The Burren Programme is a pioneering agri-environmental programme which aims to conserve and support the heritage, environment and communities of the Burren.

The Objectives of the Burren Programme are:

  • to ensure the sustainable agricultural management of high nature value farmland in the Burren;
  • to contribute to the positive management of the Burren’s landscape and cultural heritage; and
  • to contribute to improvements in water quality and water usage efficiency in the Burren region.

The extent of the Burren region, as defined for the purposes of the Programme, is roughly indicated by the solid black line on the map.


The Burren region, as defined above, includes the following District Electoral Divisions:

Abbey Derreen Kiltartan
Ballyeighter Doorus Kinvarra
Beagh Drumacoo Lisdoonvarna
Boston Drumcreehy Lurraga
Cahermore Gleninagh Mountelva
Carran Glenroe Muckanagh
Castletaylor Kilfenora Noughaval
Castletown Killeenavarra Oughtmama
Cloghaun Killilagh Rathborney
Corrofin Killinaboy Ruan
Crusheen Killinny  

Special Area of Conservation (SAC) & Special Protection Area (SPA) designations in the Burren include:

SAC 000019 – Ballyogan Lough
SAC 000606 – Lough Fingall Complex
SAC 000020 – Black Head-Poulsallagh Complex
SAC 001926 – East Burren Complex
SAC 000032 – Dromore Woods & Loughs
SAC 002244 – Ardrahan Grassland
SAC 000054 – Moneen Mountain
SAC 002294 – Cahermore Turlough
SAC 000057 – Moyree River System
SAC 002295 – Ballinduff Turlough
SAC 000238 – Caherglassaun Turlough
SAC 000252 – Coole-Garryland Complex
SPA 004107 – Coole-Garryland